Shared Governance

Shared governance has a rich history at Colorado State University dating back more than 100 years and refers to the shared responsibility between the University administration, employee councils and student government to help shape CSU’s vision, culture, and collective sense of purpose. It is designed to engage the entire University community through direct and representative participation in planning and decision-making, ensuring employees and students have a seat at the table. CSU employees today participate in shared governance through three different councils based on their classification: Faculty Council, Classified Personnel Council or Administrative Professional Council. Students are represented by the Associated Students of Colorado State University. The ASCSU Senate is composed of elected representatives from all eight colleges, open option students, and graduate students.